Oklahoma basis for a divorce can either be fault based or no fault divorce where incompatibility is the grounds for the divorce petition.
Fault based divorce can be filed where there is
Abandonment for more than a year
Cruelty and inhumane treatment
Neglect of duty
Wife was pregnant by another man by the time of marriage
Insanity for more than 5 years
Imprisonment where a felony was committed
The State of Oklahoma requires that one of the spouses be a resident here for at least 6 months immediately before the divorce petition is filed. It can be filed where the defendant resides or where the plaintiff has been residing if he/she has been there for at least 30 days. The divorce petition is filed in the District Court.
Where children are involved in a divorce petition, the court does not issue a decree until 90 days after the filing for the divorce petition. It is also unlawful for one to remarry [unless to the one you have just divorced] or cohabitate with another for six months after the decree has been made. If so, one is guilty of bigamy and can be imprisoned for a period not less than one year.
The divorce can either be agreed or default divorce. Where it is an agreed divorce, the parties agree to divorce according to the set rules by the State. They agree on the set terms of distribution of property, Oklahoma child support and custody. A default divorce in Oklahoma is where the other spouse when served with the divorce papers does not sign or do anything about it the divorce. The plaintiff is therefore awarded whatever he/she had asked for in the divorce petition.
You can download forms from Oklahoma State Court Website's Forms Page.