In order to understand the Illinois divorce forms, you first have to know about the legal procedures and requirements when filing for a divorce here. The forms serve different purposes and can be downloaded online for free. This is meant to save you on time and money.
To start divorce proceedings in Illinois, the petitioner must be residing in this State for at least 90 day before filing for the petition. The case can be filed in one of the counties the couple resides.
The grounds for dissolution of the marriage can either be no fault or fault based divorce. A no fault divorce grounds are where there are irreconcilable differences, the couple has been living apart for more that 2 years and breakdown of the marriage that cannot be reversed. The period the couple has been living apart can be shortened to six months if both the parties do not contest the divorce.
The basis of a fault based divorce is where there is
Imprisonment for committing a felony
Adultery which is also illegal in the State
Drunkenness and or drug abuse lasting for at least two years
Infection of the spouse with a communicable disease
Attempted poisoning or endangering the life of the spouse
The process of filing a divorce petition in Illinois includes
Filing the divorce papers
Letting the other spouse know about it
Attending the hearings
Some grounds for divorce are only approved by the court. One has to therefore provide evidence for the court to approve.
The divorce can either be
a) Agreed divorce where both spouses agree on the divorce proceedings and the legal judgments
b) Default divorce where the other spouse does not sign the divorce papers or do anything about the divorce. The plaintiff is therefore awarded what is petitioned for in the divorce papers by the court.
QILDRO publication - A detailed overview of Qualified Illinois Domestic Relations Orders.
(Forms were collected from State of Illinois Official Website)