Couples living is Michigan must understand divorce law in Michigan before applying for divorce. The law determines how a spouse can apply for divorce, the reasons and how the wife or husband should respond after being served with divorce forms. It is also crucial to understand where one can get Michigan divorce forms.
Requirements for divorce in Michigan
One spouse must have lived in Michigan for 180 days or more to be allowed to file for divorce in Michigan. In addition, you must file for divorce in your county or the county of your spouse. However, the spouse must have resided in the county for 10 days or more. You can only file for divorce by citing irreconcilable differences in marriage. This means that the marriage has broken down and can not be saved. This can be as a result of divorce or incompatibilities in divorce.
How to file for divorce
You will need to get divorce forms and complete them, indicating your reasons for filing for divorce. You can get Michigan divorce forms at the local legal office or download one for free online. Getting one online is convenient and fast since you will not need to visit the legal office. After submitting the forms to the court, your spouse will be served with the papers. Your spouse is expected to answer within the next 21 days. He or she can deny or accept your allegations.
The waiting period is usually 60 days after filing, but couples with children can wait for up to six months. A judge will finalize the divorce once the waiting period is over. He will decide children custody as well as how to divide assets if you can not agree.