Before you file your divorce forms and start the process, you should take the time to get familiar with the laws to which an Iowan divorce is subjected to.
First of all, the state of Iowa recognizes the possibility of a “no fault divorce”, which is basically a short way of describing a divorce in which the relationship has simply been damaged beyond possible repair. Neither you nor your spouse is required to provide proof of specific events that happened in order to justify the divorce, that is if you both actually agree on it.
After you file your Iowa divorce forms and petition for a dissolution of your marriage there is a minimum wait period of 90 days before the whole thing can be made official by the judge. During 60 days of that time you have the option of participating in conciliation efforts, which is basically a final attempt at finding a reason not to go through with the divorce, if of course both parties are consenting to it.
Downloadable Forms (Collected from Iowa Judicial Branch Website):