Missouri divorce law, like most states in the US require one to be a resident of the state for at least 90 days to be allowed to file for divorce in the state. Other things that you should know include grounds for divorce, divorce procedure and how long it will take to be granted divorce.
What are the legal grounds for divorce in Missouri?
Divorce can be granted if a couple cites irreconcilable differences. This means that there is no chance that the couple might reconcile in the future. If one partner denies this, then the partner who filed for divorce can cite the following reasons;The partner committed adultery and must provide evidence. Missouri divorce laws allow divorce on grounds of adultery.The partner had abandoned the other partner for at least six months prior to filing for divorce.There was psychological and physical abuse in the marriageDivorce is allowed if the couple has lived apart for 12 months by mutual consent. If not, the couple can file for divorce if they have been living separately for the last 24 months or 2 years prior to filing for divorce.
If one party has refuted that there is irreconcilable difference, the court may advice the couple to go for counseling. The next hearing will be set not before 30 days are over, but not after 6 months.
In cases where children are involved, Missouri divorce law state that it is the duty of the court to decide custody. The court has a duty to minimize kid's trauma and may recommend counseling. In addition, the court must make decisions in the best interest of the child and hence several factors will be considered including the parent who is more likely to offer stability to the child, visitation rights among other things.
Property may be divided equally or based on the needs of each partner. The court can order support if one partner does not have the means to support himself or herself and the child.